Permissions allow you to control who has access to view and edit data in Planbase.
There are four types of permissions within Planbase:
End User: users can only see their own schedule and profile details. They can add and edit their own availability and leave requests.
Manager: users can view and edit schedules, leave requests, and availability for the teams and roles in Manages and Can also view.
View Only: users have access to view data in the product but cannot edit any data.
Admin: users can see and edit all data within the product, including every team.
Manages and Can also view
Managers only see the teams and roles listed under Manages and Can also view. To keep a team out of someone's view, set their permission level to Manager and only assign the teams they should see.
Admins always see every team. Manages on an admin does not hide teams. It only controls which alerts that admin gets for requests, availability, and shift claims.
📣 Customers on the Enterprise or Scale Plan can customize their permissions to suit their business
The below table is a summary of the main differences between the permission levels:
Admin | View Only | Manager | End User | |
View timesheets | ✅ | ✅ | ❌ | ✅ |
View schedules | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ |
Edit settings | ✅ | ❌ | ❌ | ❌ |
Create API tokens | ✅ | ❌ | ❌ | ❌ |
Add forecast adjustments | ✅ | ❌ | ❌ | ❌ |
Assign user permissions | ✅ | ❌ | ❌ | ❌ |
Edit schedule | ✅ | ❌ | ✅ | ❌ |
Approve leave | ✅ | ❌ | ✅ | ❌ |
Approve timesheets | ✅ | ❌ | ✅ | ❌ |
How to update permissions
Go to the People page > select a user then scroll to Permission Level.
Here administrators can update the permission of a user.

